Produced by

12 Days of Soundcheck: Sinkane

Friday, December 19, 2014

No need to hang on to that receipt; this recording of Sinkane live in our studio is one gift you'll want to keep.

Comment

12 Days of Soundcheck: Nickel Creek

Thursday, December 18, 2014

Here we come a-wassailing with another exclusive track from the studio.

Comment

12 Days Of Soundcheck: Buscabulla

Wednesday, December 17, 2014

Soundcheck continues to fill your electronic stocking with digital gifts.

Comment

12 Days of Soundcheck: Courtney Barnett Cultivates A Timeless Sound

Tuesday, December 16, 2014

The Soundcheck Gift Express keeps chugging along with a free download of Courtney Barnett's "Avant Gardener" live in the studio.

Comment

12 Days Of Soundcheck: Primus Pumps Its 'Fisticuffs'

Monday, December 15, 2014

Download a live performance of "Fisticuffs", which one could imagine taking place on the Island of Misfit Toys.

Comments [1]

12 Days Of Soundcheck: Matisyahu

Friday, December 12, 2014

The singer embraces his many contradictions and comes out a winner in 2014; download a live version of "Broken Car."

Comment

12 Days Of Soundcheck: Jenny Lewis

Thursday, December 11, 2014

Soundcheck comes bearing gifts: sweet, soaring sounds from the inimitable Jenny Lewis. Download "The Voyager," live from the studio.

Comment

12 Days Of Soundcheck: Another Jolt of Sylvan Esso's 'Coffee'

Wednesday, December 10, 2014

One day only! Download a live version of one of this year's best songs.

Comment

12 Days Of Soundcheck: In The Valley Below

Tuesday, December 09, 2014

Soundcheck is wearing its Santa hat! Grab this smoky live performance of "Peaches."

Comment

12 Days Of Soundcheck: Charles Bradley, Soul Survivor

Monday, December 08, 2014

Happy holidays from Soundcheck! Download a scorching and soulful live performance of "Crying In The Chapel."

Comment

Gig Alert: La Mecánica Popular

Friday, December 05, 2014

Unique purveyors of psychedelic salsa play at Nublu tonight. Listen to "Milagro."

Comment

Gig Alert: Strand of Oaks

Thursday, December 04, 2014

Philly-based rockers bring confessional songs with a punch to Bowery Ballroom. Listen to "Goshen '97."

Comment

Shimmering Afropop Of The Very Best, Hear Me Now

Tuesday, December 02, 2014

The Very Best combines Malawian and London influences to make methodical Afropop.

Comment

Gig Alert: A Deeper "Kind Of Blue"

Tuesday, December 02, 2014

The National Jazz Museum In Harlem takes a closer listen to Miles Davis' masterpiece tonight. Listen to "Freddie Freeloader."

Comment

Gig Alert: M.A.K.U. Soundsystem

Monday, December 01, 2014

Self-described 'band of immigrants' plays music from Colombia and the Caribbean. For a taste, sample "M.N.D. (Music Never Dies)."

Comment

Gig Alert: Banda Magda

Friday, November 28, 2014

Musical polyglots play a late show at Blue Note tomorrow night. Listen to "Yerakina." 

Comment

Gig Alert: Caddywhompus

Thursday, November 27, 2014

Muscular NOLA guitar and drums duo burns some Thanksgiving calories at Baby's All Right. Listen to "Stuck."

Comment

Gig Alert: Hundred Waters

Wednesday, November 26, 2014

Ethereal electronic-inflected group plays with Interpol tonight. Listen to "Out Alee."

Comments [1]

Gig Alert: People Get Ready

Tuesday, November 25, 2014

Kinetically-inclined pop dances its way into Bowery Ballroom tonight. Check out "Physiques."

Comment

Gig Alert: Supermambo! A Vibes Tribute to Tito Puente

Monday, November 24, 2014

Grammy-nominated vibraphonist Felipe Fournier plays Tito Puente's mambo music. Listen to "Vibe Mambo."

Comment