Produced by

The Mighty Little Uke

Wednesday, August 25, 2010

The tiny ukulele is a big hit - again.

Read More

Grand Opera, Little Screen

Tuesday, August 24, 2010

John Schaefer recalls a big moment in front of small screen

Read More

Superfans Behaving Badly

Monday, August 23, 2010

Maybe there's a reason we use "rabid" for some fans...

Read More

Radio's Lost Treasures

Friday, August 20, 2010

Gatewave

John Schaefer hopes there's at least one more radio recording out there...

Read More

Life Is (Still) A Cabaret

Thursday, August 19, 2010

Variety and cabaret shows are back?  I didn't know they'd gone away...

Read More

A Recipe for Disasters

Wednesday, August 18, 2010

John Schaefer says the music world should look to sports to deal with concert disasters. 

Read More

Selling Well or Selling Out?

Tuesday, August 17, 2010

Arcade Fire succeeds while sticking to their guns.

Read More

The Art and Craft of Songwriting

Monday, August 16, 2010

It may aspire to art, but songwriting is all about craft. 

Read More

The Wisdom of Jerry From Queens

Friday, July 30, 2010

John Schaefer says Detroit rocks, and raps, and funks...

Read More

Around the Block

Thursday, July 29, 2010

John Schaefer says "I have nothing to say, and I am saying it."

Read More

The Big Gig

Wednesday, July 28, 2010

John Schaefer likes the White House's new approach to live music.

Read More

The Measure of Success?

Tuesday, July 27, 2010

Do music charts serve any purpose today?

Read More

Space Is The Place

Monday, July 26, 2010

Female pop singers get into sci-fi.  John Schaefer asks, what took you so long? 

Read More

Summer In The City

Friday, July 23, 2010

For much of my adult life, I’ve lived in spitting distance of Prospect Park.  That’s assuming I can spit the length of two city blocks, which, since I’ve never attempted it, has never been disproved.  The point is, living near an open space in New York City means that occasionally, you will be treated to the sounds of an outdoor summer concert – whether you want it or not. 

 

Read More

Comment

Fela, Eventually

Thursday, July 22, 2010

John Schaefer remembers discovering Fela Kuti's music.

Read More

It Was A Very Good Year... Not

Wednesday, July 21, 2010

John Schaefer still hates 1970. 

Read More

Man Vs. Machine

Tuesday, July 20, 2010

John Schaefer wonders if digital instruments are the real threat to musicians' jobs.

Read More

Lessons from Altamont

Monday, July 19, 2010

Drug use at rock concerts is apparently news to some LA officials. 

Read More

The Biggest Change Of All

Friday, July 16, 2010

John Schaefer wonders how musicians manage when they become parents.

Read More

Duke Ellington's America

Wednesday, July 14, 2010

If Duke Ellington signifies something about America, who else does too?

Read More