Produced by

A Car Born From Music?

Friday, June 04, 2010

It just looks like another car to me...

Read More

Raising Arizona. Or Not.

Thursday, June 03, 2010

John Schaefer has a family connection to the immigration issue. 

Read More

Celestial Harmony

Wednesday, June 02, 2010

Turns out the universe is musical, and somewhere, Pythagoras is saying "right again!" 

Read More

On The Road Again

Tuesday, June 01, 2010

Why I'd love the Clash to reunite - and why I wouldn't go see them.

Read More

What's wrong with a little drool?

Friday, May 28, 2010

John Schaefer recognizes "Drooling Fanaticism" when he sees it - at home.

Read More

VIP Concert Tix

Thursday, May 27, 2010

John Schaefer wonders why he isn't more upset at VIP concert packages.

Read More

The Film That Launched A Thousand Scores

Wednesday, May 26, 2010

Seems like everyone wants to write music for this old sci-fi classic.

Read More

Wedding Band Blues

Tuesday, May 25, 2010

How about the best (or worst) of both worlds:  A wedding band with a dj? 

Read More

Jingle All The Way

Monday, May 24, 2010

John Schaefer wonders what those catchy jingles are really saying...

Read More

Forever (Neil) Young

Friday, May 21, 2010

John Schaefer tries to decide which Neil Young he's a fan of. 

Read More

Scoring Robin Hood

Wednesday, May 19, 2010

It’s interesting to compare the way different composers have approached period piece films over the years.  In 1938, when Erich Wolfgang Korngold composed his classic score to The Adventures of Robin Hood, there was no “period instrument” movement – what we now call “early music” was the province of scholars and theoreticians, and was hardly ever actually played by living musicians.

Read More

Picks of the Week

Tuesday, May 18, 2010

Soundcheck's picks this week include an afro-pop pioneer and a musical portrait of Los Angeles of the 1940s and '50s.

Read More

Comment

Music Lessons Online

Tuesday, May 18, 2010

Before online music lessons, John Schaefer says, you could fumble through lessons on TV. 

Read More

Tell Me a Story

Monday, May 17, 2010

John Schaefer finds an unexpected connection between Das Racist and The Hold Steady.

Read More

Picks of the Week

Thursday, May 13, 2010

Iceland’s troublemaking volcano has been back in the news, and that country's music is back in our weekly picks. 

Read More

Comment

New Musical Instruments

Thursday, May 13, 2010

More musical instruments?  That's fine, as long as we have more people playing them. 

Read More

Broadway punk: an oxymoron

Wednesday, May 12, 2010

John Schaefer on American Idiot:  "if it's on Broadway, how punk can it be?"

Read More

Well, It's Better Than 'Idol'

Tuesday, May 11, 2010

Glee is just not my thing.

Read More

Ethical listening

Monday, May 10, 2010

Are the new ethical dilemmas of listening to music in the digital age really "new"?

Read More

Critiquing the Critics

Friday, May 07, 2010

John Schaefer: Blogging isn't necessarily the same thing as music criticism.

Read More