Produced by

We Are The World Too

Friday, June 25, 2010

Let's not admit that Ghana's music is great until after Saturday's game.

Read More

The Sound of the World Cup

Friday, June 18, 2010

John Schaefer likes the sound of this first-ever African World Cup

Read More

A Final Word On Those Robert Johnson Recordings

Thursday, June 17, 2010

What's a record?  A question of authenticity vs artifice...

Read More

Recordings – Documents or Artifice?

Wednesday, June 16, 2010

Sometimes a recording is more than just a document of a band's sound. 

Read More

Bach, Beethoven, and R2D2

Tuesday, June 15, 2010

OK, she's a computer, but is composer Emily Howell really all that different? 

Read More

When Radio Was King

Monday, June 14, 2010

WSM reached millions of Americans. John Schaefer was not one of them.

Read More

The Beautiful Sounds of the Beautiful Game

Friday, June 11, 2010

John Schaefer on what the world really needs: more soccer and more music.

Read More

A Great Story and a Bonus Track

Thursday, June 10, 2010

Yeah, the show's over - but we're not done yet.

Read More

Was Robert Johnson Speeding?

Wednesday, June 09, 2010

Robert Johnson: a deal with the devil or a mistake in the control room?

Read More

Battle of the Late Night Bands

Tuesday, June 08, 2010

Why The Roots are the best thing on the late night talk shows.

Read More

The Song of the Summer, 2010

Monday, June 07, 2010

We’ve done this annually on Soundcheck – offering a list of likely pop hits that seem to have been issued for the sole purpose of vying for the unofficial title of Song Of The Summer.

Read More

Comment

A Car Born From Music?

Friday, June 04, 2010

It just looks like another car to me...

Read More

Raising Arizona. Or Not.

Thursday, June 03, 2010

John Schaefer has a family connection to the immigration issue. 

Read More

Celestial Harmony

Wednesday, June 02, 2010

Turns out the universe is musical, and somewhere, Pythagoras is saying "right again!" 

Read More

On The Road Again

Tuesday, June 01, 2010

Why I'd love the Clash to reunite - and why I wouldn't go see them.

Read More

What's wrong with a little drool?

Friday, May 28, 2010

John Schaefer recognizes "Drooling Fanaticism" when he sees it - at home.

Read More

VIP Concert Tix

Thursday, May 27, 2010

John Schaefer wonders why he isn't more upset at VIP concert packages.

Read More

The Film That Launched A Thousand Scores

Wednesday, May 26, 2010

Seems like everyone wants to write music for this old sci-fi classic.

Read More

Wedding Band Blues

Tuesday, May 25, 2010

How about the best (or worst) of both worlds:  A wedding band with a dj? 

Read More

Jingle All The Way

Monday, May 24, 2010

John Schaefer wonders what those catchy jingles are really saying...

Read More