Produced by

Space Is The Place

Monday, July 26, 2010

Female pop singers get into sci-fi.  John Schaefer asks, what took you so long? 

Read More

Summer In The City

Friday, July 23, 2010

For much of my adult life, I’ve lived in spitting distance of Prospect Park.  That’s assuming I can spit the length of two city blocks, which, since I’ve never attempted it, has never been disproved.  The point is, living near an open space in New York City means that occasionally, you will be treated to the sounds of an outdoor summer concert – whether you want it or not. 

 

Read More

Comment

Fela, Eventually

Thursday, July 22, 2010

John Schaefer remembers discovering Fela Kuti's music.

Read More

It Was A Very Good Year... Not

Wednesday, July 21, 2010

John Schaefer still hates 1970. 

Read More

Man Vs. Machine

Tuesday, July 20, 2010

John Schaefer wonders if digital instruments are the real threat to musicians' jobs.

Read More

Lessons from Altamont

Monday, July 19, 2010

Drug use at rock concerts is apparently news to some LA officials. 

Read More

The Biggest Change Of All

Friday, July 16, 2010

John Schaefer wonders how musicians manage when they become parents.

Read More

Duke Ellington's America

Wednesday, July 14, 2010

If Duke Ellington signifies something about America, who else does too?

Read More

Do We Need Lilith Fair?

Tuesday, July 13, 2010

"Do we need Lilith Fair" is the wrong question.

Read More

Beat the Press

Monday, July 12, 2010

Aside from the obvious (and pretty important) similarity that they’re both women vocalists and songwriters, Liz Phair and M.I.A. have little in common.

Read More

Music of the World Cup Final

Friday, July 09, 2010

Two countries fight for the World Cup.  Can their music predict the outcome?

Read More

The Year So Far

Thursday, July 08, 2010

The year's only half over but the cream is already rising to the top.

Read More

The narcocorridos controversy

Wednesday, July 07, 2010

A type of friendly-sounding Mexican dance music could be criminal, and is definitely deadly.

Read More

I Still Got the Blues

Tuesday, July 06, 2010

Think the blues are dead?  You may not be looking in the right place.

Read More

Elgar Scores!

Friday, July 02, 2010

Musing on 100 years of classical music - about soccer. 

Read More

Lang Lang Plays the iPad

Thursday, July 01, 2010

When pianist Lang Lang visited Soundcheck, he performed on our Steinway grand -- and on his iPad. Watch this superstar of classical music perform "Flight of the Bumblebee" -- with two fingers -- using the Magic Piano app on Apple's device.

Read More

Comments [1]

Copyright Or Wrong

Wednesday, June 30, 2010

Both sides of the argument are right - where does that leave us? 

Read More

We Are The World Too

Friday, June 25, 2010

Let's not admit that Ghana's music is great until after Saturday's game.

Read More

The Sound of the World Cup

Friday, June 18, 2010

John Schaefer likes the sound of this first-ever African World Cup

Read More

A Final Word On Those Robert Johnson Recordings

Thursday, June 17, 2010

What's a record?  A question of authenticity vs artifice...

Read More