Produced by

Every weekday, we bring you great music from artists playing in the metropolitan area. Listen to the song, and if you like what you hear, click the show link to see ticket information.

Recently in Gig Alerts

Gig Alert: David Poe

Friday, May 30, 2014

Understated singer-songwriter plays Rockwood tonight. Poe says he wrote “Lonely Like Me” one morning under a trumpet tree, which dropped pink flowers as he wrote. Says Poe, “The lyric sheet is stained with flower blood."

Comments [2]

Gig Alert: Golem

Thursday, May 29, 2014

Punk-klezmer outfit brings their electrifying live sound to Joe's Pub for a CD release party. Download "Freydele."

Comment

Gig Alert: The Shape Of Jazz To Come

Wednesday, May 28, 2014

In 1959, saxophonist and composer Ornette Coleman released his iconic album The Shape Of Jazz To Come. Tonight, a group of scholars and musicians will look at that sea-change moment in music, and examine the downtown jazz scene, then and now. 

Comment

Gig Alert: BOSSABRASIL

Tuesday, May 27, 2014

Two Brazilian music icons play together for the first time in NYC at Birdland tonight. Listen to Roberto Menescal and Marcos Valle, featuring Wanda Sá, on "O Barquinho."

Comment

Gig Alert: United East Jazz Quintet

Monday, May 26, 2014

Jazz collaboration between US-based Korean and Japanese musicians plays in Midtown. Listen to "Teemo's Journey."

Comment

Gig Alert: Super Hi-Fi

Friday, May 23, 2014

Dual-trombone dub gang plays at Friends and Lovers in Brooklyn. Download "Washingtonian."

Comments [1]

Gig Alert: Jan Bell & The Maybelles

Thursday, May 22, 2014

British-born singer and songwriter plays Appalachian-twinged Americana at Rodeo bar tonight. Download "Yorkshire Water."

Comment

Gig Alert: Sophistafunk

Wednesday, May 21, 2014

Syracuse-based trio featuring keys, drums, and a mic plays Brooklyn Bowl. Download "Gotta Walk."

Comment

Gig Alert: The Tablets

Tuesday, May 20, 2014

The poppy, new-wave-y combo plays at BRIC Arts tonight. Download a track from their forthcoming EP.

Comments [1]

Gig Alert: The Sometime Boys

Monday, May 19, 2014

Brooklyn folk and bluegrass group celebrates their new record with a show at The Slipper Room. Download "The Great Escape."

Comments [3]

Gig Alert: Walter Martin

Friday, May 16, 2014

The songwriter and instrumentalist for The Walkmen celebrates his new solo record tonight at Joe's Pub. Download "Sing To Me" — and watch a live performance on Soundcheck.

Comment

Gig Alert: Raphael McGregor

Thursday, May 15, 2014

In-demand lap steel guitarist plays his regular gig at Freddy's tonight. Download "TVM."

Comment

Gig Alert: Here We Go Magic

Wednesday, May 14, 2014

NYC electro-pop band plays on the East River waterfront at Brooklyn Bridge Park tonight. Download "How Do I Know."

Comment

Gig Alert: The Wailers

Tuesday, May 13, 2014

Bob Marley's reggae ambassadors play at Brooklyn Bowl. Listen to "Jamming."

Comment

Gig Alert: Marc Ribot Trio

Monday, May 12, 2014

Genre-defying guitarist celebrates a record release with his jazz trio at Le Poisson Rouge tonight. Download "The Wizard."

Comment

Gig Alert: Josh Berwanger

Friday, May 09, 2014

Ex-Anniversary frontman plays solo tonight at the Knitting Factory. Download 'Baby Loses Her Mind.'

Comment

Gig Alert: The Pre-War Ponies

Thursday, May 08, 2014

Revivalist tunes from the classic American songbook tonight at Barbes. Download 'Amapola.'

Comment

Gig Alert: Sheila Jordan

Wednesday, May 07, 2014

Octogenarian jazz vocal legend brings her voice to Birdland tonight. Stream her take on Charlie Parker's "Anthropology."

Comment

Gig Alert: Frank Lacy & The Smalls Legacy Band

Tuesday, May 06, 2014

Trombone pyrotechnics from a jazz legend tonight at Small's. Download 'Carolyn's Dance.'

Comment

Gig Alert: Roomful Of Teeth

Monday, May 05, 2014

Stirring eight-part harmonies from Grammy-winning vocal group at Broadway/Advent tonight. Download "Sarabande."

Comment